什麼是 VoIP 以及 VoIP 的工作原理|5 家最佳 VoIP 提供商

披露:此內容受讀者支持,這意味著如果您通過我們的某些鏈接購買,我們可能會賺取佣金。 

這篇文章是從我們的英文版翻譯過來的,可能存在錯誤。

VoIP 在尋求更實惠、可靠和靈活的通信解決方案的企業和家庭中越來越受歡迎。 商務電話解決方案 VoIP 允許用戶通過互聯網而不是傳統的電話線撥打和接聽電話。

繼續閱讀以了解有關什麼是 VoIP 以及 VoIP 如何工作的更多信息?即使您是技術領域的初學者,您也將能夠理解和使用 VoIP 電話。

什麼是網絡電話?

VoIP 代表互聯網協議上的語音。 IP 語音 (VoIP) 是將語音轉換為數字信號、對其進行壓縮並通過 Internet 發送的過程。 VoIP 可與 Internet 電話服務或普通電話一起使用。使用 VoIP 電話可以讓您使用互聯網撥打 VoIP 電話,而無需支付長途費用或海外 VoIP 電話。

互聯網協議語音是一種互聯網協議,它允許計算機應用程序在互聯網上以數據包的形式而不是以傳統的模擬形式傳輸語音通信和多媒體內容。 VoIP 允許個人用戶和企業用戶通過互聯網協議 (IP) 網絡上的語音、視頻、傳真、聊天和其他多媒體功能進行通信。

網絡電話是如何工作的?

VoIP 通過使用互聯網而不是使用傳統的電話線來撥打電話。它不使用電線,而是使用數據網絡來傳輸語音對話。這使您可以在任何有互聯網連接的地方撥打電話,只要您可以訪問電話或支持 VoIP 的設備。

您的 VoIP 數據安全地存儲在數據中心的中央服務器上,該服務器由您的 VoIP 提供商擁有和管理。這消除了您辦公室對昂貴設備的需求。

How Does VoIP Work Explanation
VoIP 說明來自 聯邦通信委員會

如何設置VoIP電話系統?

VoIP 配置涉及設置一個虛擬電話號碼,該號碼指向位於單獨位置的服務器上的 VoIP 服務。在您的辦公室實施 VoIP 電話有兩種主要選擇——傳統的本地部署和在雲中託管的 VoIP 服務。

在傳統的本地部署中,VoIP 服務器與運行系統所需的 VoIP 電話和其他硬件一起安裝在您的辦公室。這種方法的優點是您可以完全控制您的系統,並且可以根據需要進行任何更改。但是,您還必須自行承擔安裝和維護硬件的費用。

另一方面,託管 VoIP 服務由雲服務提供商提供,允許您通過 Internet 撥打電話,而無需擔心安裝和維護任何硬件。您所要做的就是向服務提供商註冊並開始使用您的 VoIP 帳戶撥打電話。使用託管服務的一些優點包括易於設置和降低前期成本。

託管 VoIP 服務和傳統的本地部署都有其自身的優點和缺點。在決定您的 VoIP 系統的配置之前,企業應仔細考慮您的要求。

網絡電話號碼

VoIP 電話號碼是 VoIP 服務提供商在您創建帳戶時分配給您的號碼。此電話號碼可用於與在您的服務提供商處擁有 VoIP 帳戶的其他用戶通話。在其他服務提供商處擁有 VoIP 帳戶的其他用戶也可以撥打該電話號碼。

此外,VoIP 電話號碼可能具有不同的區號,具體取決於使用它們的國家/地區。例如,加拿大用戶可能有一個區號為 416 的電話號碼,而美國用戶可能有一個區號為 321 的電話號碼。

VoIP 電話號碼可以是固定電話號碼或手機號碼。您可以保留現有固定電話號碼並將其移植到 VoIP,以便在切換到 VoIP 服務時保留現有號碼。

VoIP 與固定電話

VoIP 和固定電話都可以用來撥打和接聽電話。然而,他們有 不同的優點和缺點 這使它們更適合不同類型的企業。

成本

在傳統的固定電話模式中,您的公司將在您的場所安裝自己的電話系統,以及昂貴的設備,例如交換機和路由器。另一方面,VoIP 通過在互聯網上路由呼叫來工作。

VoIP 服務提供商通常提供比傳統固定電話服務更低的費率,並且如果管理得當,還可以提供呼叫轉移、語音郵件、呼叫等待、電話會議等高級功能。

因此,VoIP 提供了額外的成本節約,因為傳統電話服務提供商通常會為這些附加組件收取經常性費用。

可擴展性

VoIP 也比傳統的固定電話服務更具可擴展性,因為企業只需在軟件界面上單擊幾下即可添加或刪除員工,而不必為每個新員工購買新的電話系統。

可擴展性的另一個優點是它允許公司根據需要增加或減少電話線的數量,而不會產生大量的資本支出。

靈活性

VoIP 還提供比傳統固定電話服務更大的靈活性。

對於傳統的固定電話系統,您必須在每個房間都安裝電話線,以便有人能夠撥打或接聽電話。

與受地理位置限制的傳統固定電話服務不同,VoIP 在互聯網上運行,可以在任何有穩定互聯網連接的地方使用。 VoIP 電話系統允許公司的員工在任何設備上撥打和接聽電話:台式電腦、筆記本電腦、平板電腦甚至智能手機,從他們可以訪問 Internet 的任何地方。

這種靈活性對於擁有遠程工作或經常出差的員工的企業尤其有價值。

功能

VoIP 電話與傳統電話線路之間的最大區別之一是,使用 VoIP,您可以節省資金,同時獲得更強大的功能和更多功能,而無需投資購買昂貴的設備。

VoIP 功能包括呼叫轉移、語音郵件到電子郵件、自動呼叫分配和虛擬分機/線路,只需使用服務提供商提供的軟件單擊幾下鼠標即可進行設置。但是,與 VoIP 技術相比,傳統的固定電話服務確實提供了一些附加功能。

毫無疑問,VoIP 電話系統還提供了比傳統固定電話服務更多的功能。

為什麼企業使用VoIP?

企業可以使用 VoIP 電話以多種方式降低成本並提高生產力。

例如,在家工作的員工可以使用該服務訪問公司電話系統,就像他們在辦公室工作一樣。這使您的員工能夠在家中或其他遠程位置靈活地工作。它還使您的員工有機會使用他們的手機和其他移動設備撥打和接聽電話,即使他們不在辦公室。

VoIP 允許企業在不同地點之間進行通信,提高員工流動性並簡化業務流程。此外,使用 VoIP 使企業能夠以比傳統電話線更低的成本撥打國際電話,並為經常出差工作的員工提供更大的靈活性。

VoIP 實施要求

VoIP 系統需要計算機、VoIP 電話和高速互聯網連接。

計算機需要安裝聲卡並連接到聲卡的耳機或揚聲器才能使用語音功能。

VoIP 電話本身是通過安裝在 PC 或電話上的軟件程序訪問的,用於撥打或接聽電話。許多 VoIP 提供商為新用戶或打折電話提供免費手機。

要利用 VoIP 系統提供的所有功能,您還需要支持 SIP(會話發起協議)的路由器或網絡交換機。大多數 VoIP 服務提供商也可以協助設置。互聯網連接應具有低延遲(小於 100 毫秒)和足夠的帶寬(通常為 128 kbps),以同時提供高質量的通話和互聯網瀏覽。

VoIP 電話系統的主要功能

VoIP 電話系統提供了比傳統固定電話更多的功能。以下是使用 VoIP 電話系統的一些好處:

  • 語音郵件轉發:
    您可以將手機設置為將所有未接來電轉接到您指定的一個或多個電子郵件地址。許多企業主發現,在手機上安裝語音郵件收件箱可以節省大量時間,因為他們可以在離開辦公桌時隨時查看消息,而不必花時間回到辦公室查看語音郵件。
  • 語音郵件到電子郵件:
    許多 VoIP 提供商提供將語音郵件轉換為電子郵件的功能,可以從任何電子郵件程序或設備中讀取。此功能允許您從任何位置訪問語音郵件,而無需呼叫您的語音信箱。您甚至可以在旅途中通過智能手機訪問這些電子郵件。
  • 呼叫隊列:
    通過呼叫隊列,您可以根據每位員工的技能或專業知識自動將呼叫重定向到員工。例如,您可以將電話系統設置為根據呼叫類型將呼叫路由到不同部門。支持、銷售和其他部門的呼叫可以根據他們的技能路由到特定人員。
  • 通話錄音:
    如果您的公司需要保留撥打和接聽電話的詳細記錄,通話記錄可以讓您在需要時快速輕鬆地訪問此信息。大多數 VoIP 系統允許您記錄發生在電話線上的對話並將它們存儲在您在提供商處擁有的帳戶中。
  • 語音郵件到文本:
    VoIP 系統包括語音郵件到文本的功能,允許您將語音郵件作為文本消息閱讀。文本轉錄通常相當準確,可為您提供您在收聽語音郵件時會收到的大部分信息。
  • 移動應用:
    您可以在任何地方使用手機進行對話。許多 VoIP 系統的移動版本允許您通過手機撥打和接聽電話,無論您身在何處。
  • 在線傳真:
    使用 VoIP,您可以在線接收傳真,而不是通過郵件將它們作為實體紙接收。
  • 多方會議:
    VoIP 系統包括多方會議功能,可讓您與許多參與者進行電話會議。
  • 視頻會議:
    許多 VoIP 系統支持視頻通話,因此您和您的同事或客戶可以進行面對面的對話。
  • 虛擬接待員:
    VoIP 系統包括允許您讓虛擬接待員根據您的指示接聽和路由呼叫的功能。可以對虛擬接待員進行編程,使其在一天中的某些時間只接聽某些電話,並根據他們掌握的有關來電者的信息將它們定向到公司內的特定個人。

使用 VoIP 電話的好處

以前使用傳統電話系統的幾個行業現在正在轉向 VoIP 系統,因為它們可以提供一些好處。我們將列舉幾個:

VoIP 電話系統包括虛擬號碼,允許公司在本地建立業務,而無需支付特定地點的實體辦公室費用。它們還允許企業通過消除長途和國際電話費來降低成本。

VoIP 電話系統使員工之間的交流變得更容易,因為他們不需要坐在辦公桌前拿著電話與國家或世界其他地方的同事交談。

VoIP 電話系統允許企業更輕鬆地發展他們的公司,因為 VoIP 系統不需要昂貴的硬件,例如計算機和服務器。可以從任何具有 Internet 連接的計算機或移動設備訪問它們。

使用 VoIP 電話的缺點

儘管 VoIP 電話服務是傳統固定電話的絕佳替代品,但它們也有一些缺點,在將您的業務切換到 VoIP 系統之前必須考慮這些缺點。

使用 VoIP 電話的最大缺點之一是它們可能會限制您的業務網絡可用的帶寬量,這可能會導致互聯網速度變慢。由於 VoIP 電話還依賴於穩定的高速互聯網連接,這在發生地震、龍捲風或颶風等自然災害的地方可能難以維護。

選擇 VoIP 提供商

商務電話市場上有許多 VoIP 提供商。在選擇 VoIP 提供商時,重要的是選擇提供可靠的客戶服務和可承受的月費率的提供商。

我們為企業選擇了 5 家最佳 VoIP 提供商:

2023 年 5 家最佳 VoIP 提供商

Ooma

Ooma 是一項基於雲的電話服務,允許企業取消固定電話並使用互聯網撥打和接聽電話。它提供了許多傳統電話系統通常提供的功能,例如語音郵件、來電顯示、呼叫轉移等。

Ooma is a Business Phone System

價錢

Ooma的 Essentials 計劃費用為 $19.95/用戶/月。 Pro 計劃為 $24.95/用戶/月,Pro Plus 計劃費用為 $29.95/用戶/月。您可以在他們的網站上購買預配置的 VoIP 電話。

RingCentral

RingCentral 提供商務電話(VoIP 電話服務),包括無限通話、虛擬傳真和無限分機,每位用戶每月收取固定費用。它還具有電話會議、呼叫轉移、語音郵件到電子郵件等功能。

RingCentral is a Business Phone System

價錢

RingCentral的 Essential 計劃起價為每位用戶每月 $19.99,而其 Standard、Premium 和 Ultimate 計劃起價分別為每位用戶每月 $27.99、$34.99 和 $49.99。

Vonage

Vonage 是一家 VoIP 提供商,提供廣泛的 API 來幫助您構建定制的 VoIP 解決方案。它們可以與眾多 3rd 方系統集成,例如 Salesforce、HubSpot、Microsoft Office 365、Slack 等。

vonage 商務電話系統

價錢

Vonage的移動套餐每月每行$14.99起。他們的 Premium 和 Advanced 計劃分別為 $24.99 和 $34.99/line/month。此外,他們的 API 連接需要額外付費。

Nextiva

Nextiva 是一項基於雲的電話服務,提供管理小型企業通信所需的所有功能。他們為企業主提供了許多銷售工具和功能。

Nextiva is a Business Phone System

價錢

Nextiva的 Essential 計劃起價為每位用戶每月 $23.95。 Professional 計劃的起價為每位用戶每月 $27.95,Enterprise 計劃的起價為每位用戶每月 $37.95。

Dialpad

Dialpad 是一家擁有高級 AI 能力的 VoIP 電話服務提供商。高級 AI 分析功能可幫助企業在通話後立即生成報告。借助人工智能驅動的熱圖功能,用戶可以在人工智能發現任何語音錯誤時獲得實時反饋。

撥號盤商務電話系統

價錢

Dialpad的標準計劃從每位用戶每月 $15 起,而 Pro 計劃從每位用戶每月 $25 起。如果您對企業計劃感興趣,您需要聯繫銷售團隊以獲取報價。

考慮切換到 VoIP 電話系統?

您是否正在考慮切換到 VoIP 電話系統?在進行轉換之前,了解您的業務需求並確定 VoIP 是否適合您的電話系統非常重要。

選擇最佳 VoIP 服務提供商時要考慮什麼?

以下是組織的重要提示和初學者指南,可確保您選擇最適合您要求的 VoIP 電話服務提供商。

了解您的業務需求

確定您需要從新的 VoIP 提供商處獲得的服務以及系統啟動並運行後您可能需要的任何其他業務支持非常重要。

VoIP 服務費用

談到 VoIP 電話服務,市場上充斥著供應商和計劃。在選擇計劃之前進行徹底的研究非常重要,以確保以最優惠的價格滿足您的需求。雖然一些服務提供商可能會為額外功能收取額外費用, 其他服務提供商可能更便宜 整體上不影響功能或質量。

第三方集成

選擇 VoIP 電話服務提供商時要考慮的關鍵事項之一是它們是否與 G Suite、Dropbox、 Salesforce、Slack、Zapier 等。將您的通信系統與您的其他服務集成的能力可確保部門之間輕鬆有效的協作,並有助於簡化業務流程。

安全

企業應選擇具有強大安全協議的 VoIP 電話服務提供商,以保護敏感數據並防止未經授權的用戶訪問系統。

技術和客戶支持

企業應選擇具有強大技術支持和客戶服務的 VoIP 服務提供商,以確保他們能夠快速解決任何問題,並將業務中斷降至最低。

VoIP 服務常見問題解答

What is the difference between PSTN and Voice over IP?

Voice over IP service providers use the internet to transmit voice signals instead of the 公共交換電話網 (PSTN)。

Where can we buy VoIP phones?

Businesses can find VoIP Phones (or IP Phones) from major phone manufacturers such as Avaya, Cisco, Polycom, and Yealink. VoIP phones can also be purchased from VoIP service providers such as RingCentral.

What are some examples of Voice over IP services?

VoIP services include voice calling, video conferencing, instant messaging, voicemail management, virtual phone numbers, and more.

How much is VoIP service?

The cost depends on the features of the voice over internet protocol (VoIP) service you choose and the provider you choose.

How much is a VoIP system compared to a traditional phone system?

答:費用因您選擇的服務和所需的電話線數量而異。

What is VoIP and How Does VoIP Work|5 Best VoIP Providers

Disclosure: This content is reader-supported, which means if you purchase through some of our links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. 

VoIP is becoming increasingly popular for businesses and households who are looking for a more affordable, reliable and flexible communications solution. Business phone solution VoIP allows users to make and receive phone calls through the Internet instead of traditional phone lines.

Read on to find out more about What is VoIP and How Does VoIP Work? Even if you are a beginner in the world of technology, you will be able to understand and use VoIP phones.

What is VoIP?

VoIP stands for voice over internet protocol. Voice over IP (VoIP) is a process of converting your voice into a digital signal, compressing it, and sending it over the internet. VoIP can be used with Internet phone service, or with a regular phone. Using VoIP phones allows you to make VoIP calls using the internet without having to pay for long-distance charges or for overseas VoIP calls.

Voice over internet protocol is an internet protocol that allows computer applications to transmit voice communications and multimedia content over the Internet as data packets rather than in traditional analog form. VoIP allows both individual users and enterprise users to communicate through voice, video, fax, chat and other multimedia functionality over Internet Protocol (IP) networks.

How does VoIP work?

VoIP works by using the internet to make phone calls rather than using traditional telephone lines. Instead of using wires, it uses data networks to transmit voice conversations. This enables you to make phone calls anywhere you have an internet connection, as long as you have access to a phone or VoIP-enabled device.

Your VoIP data is stored securely on a centralized server in a data center which is owned and managed by your VoIP provider. This eliminates the need for expensive equipment at your office.

How Does VoIP Work Explanation
VoIP Explanation from FCC

How to set up a VoIP phone system?

VoIP configuration involves setting up a virtual telephone number that points towards a VoIP service located on a server at a separate location. There are two main options for implementing VoIP phones in your office – traditional on-premises deployment and hosted VoIP services in the cloud.

In traditional on-premises deployment, the VoIP server is installed at your office, along with VoIP phones and other hardware required to run the system. The advantage of this approach is that you have complete control over your system and can make any changes as needed. However, you will also have to incur the cost of installing and maintaining the hardware on your own.

Hosted VoIP services, on the other hand, are offered by cloud service providers and allow you to make calls over the internet without having to worry about installing and maintaining any hardware. All you have to do is sign up with a service provider and start making calls using your VoIP account. Some advantages of using a hosted service include ease of setup and reduced upfront costs.

Both hosted VoIP services and traditional on-premises deployment come with their own set of advantages and disadvantages. Businesses should consider your requirements carefully before making a decision about the configuration of your VoIP system.

VoIP Phone Number

A VoIP phone number is a number that is assigned to you by the VoIP service provider when you create an account with them. This phone number can be used to place calls with other users who have VoIP accounts with your service provider. The phone number can also be called by other users who have VoIP accounts with other service providers.

Also, VoIP phone numbers can have different area codes depending on the country where they are used. For example, a Canadian user may have a phone number with an area code of 416, while a US user might have a number with an area code of 321.

VoIP phone numbers can either be landline numbers or mobile numbers. You can keep your existing landline number and port it to VoIP to keep your existing number when you switch to VoIP service.

VoIP vs Landline

VoIP and landline phones can both be used to make and receive phone calls. However, they have different advantages and disadvantages that make them more suitable for different types of businesses.

Cost

In the traditional landline phone model, your company would have its own telephone system installed on your premises, along with expensive equipment such as switches and routers. VoIP, on the other hand, works by routing calls over the internet.

VoIP service providers often offer lower rates than traditional landline phone service, and, if properly managed, offer advanced functionality such as call forwarding, voicemail, call waiting, conference calling and more.

Thus, VoIP offers additional cost savings because often traditional telephone service providers charge recurring fees for these add-ons.

Scalability

VoIP is also more scalable than traditional landline phone service, as businesses can add or remove employees with just a few clicks on the software interface rather than having to buy a new phone system for each new employee.

Another advantage of scalability is that it allows companies to increase or decrease the number of phone lines as required without incurring large capital expenditures.

Flexibility

VoIP also offers greater flexibility than traditional landline phone service.

With a traditional landline phone system, you must have a phone line installed in every room where you want someone to be able to place or receive a call.

Unlike traditional landline phone service, which is limited by geographic location, VoIP works over the internet and can be used anywhere there is a stable internet connection. A VoIP phone system allows a company’s employees to place and receive calls on any device: desktop computer, laptop, tablet or even smartphone, from anywhere that they have Internet access.

This flexibility is especially valuable for businesses with employees who work remotely or are on the road frequently.

Features

One of the biggest differences between VoIP phones and traditional phone lines is that with VoIP you can save money while getting greater functionality and more features without having to invest in expensive equipment.

VoIP features include call forwarding, voicemail-to-email, automatic call distribution, and virtual extensions/lines, which can all be set up with just a few mouse clicks using the software provided by your service provider. However, traditional landline phone service does offer some additional features compared to VoIP technology.

It is undoubted that VoIP phone systems also offer more features than traditional landline phone services.

Why do businesses use VoIP?

Businesses can use VoIP phones to cut costs and improve productivity in a number of ways.

For example, staff working from home can use the service to access the company phone system as if they were working in the office. This enables your employees to work flexibly from home or other remote locations. It also gives your staff the opportunity to use their cell phones and other mobile devices to make and receive calls, even if they are outside the office.

VoIP allows businesses to communicate between different locations, increase employee mobility, and streamline business processes. Also, using VoIP allows businesses to make international calls at a lower cost than a traditional phone line and provides more flexibility for workers who travel frequently for work.

VoIP Implementation Requirements

VoIP systems require a computer, VoIP phone, and a high-speed internet connection.

The computer will need to have a sound card installed and a headset or speakers connected to the sound card in order to use the voice features.

The VoIP phone itself is accessed through a software program installed on the PC or phone used to place or receive phone calls. Many VoIP providers offer free handsets for new users or discounted phones.

To take advantage of all the features offered by a VoIP system, you will also need a router or network switch that supports SIP (Session Initiation Protocol). Most VoIP service providers can also assist with setup. The internet connection should have low latency (less than 100 ms) and sufficient bandwidth (typically 128 kbps) to provide good-quality calls and internet browsing at the same time.

Key VoIP Phone System Features

A VoIP phone system provides more features than a traditional landline phone. Here are just some of the benefits of using a VoIP phone system:

  • Voicemail Forwarding:
    You can set up your phone to forward all unanswered calls to one or more email addresses that you specify. Many business owners find that having a voicemail inbox on their phones saves them a lot of time because they can check their messages any time they are away from their desks instead of having to make time to return to the office to check their voicemail.
  • Voicemail-to-Email:
    Many VoIP providers offer the ability to convert voicemails into emails, which can be read from any email program or device. This feature allows you to access voicemails from any location, without having to call in to your voicemail box. You can even access these emails from your smartphone while you are on the go.
  • Call Queueing:
    With call queuing, you can automatically redirect calls to staff members based on the skills or expertise that each staff member has. For example, you can setup your phone system to route calls to different departments based on the type of call. Calls to support, sales, and other departments can be routed to specific people based on their skills.
  • Call Recording:
    If your company needs to keep detailed records of calls made and received, call recording can make it possible to access this information quickly and easily whenever you need it. Most VoIP systems allow you to record the conversations taking place on your phone lines and store them in the account that you have with the provider.
  • Voicemail to Text:
    VoIP systems include voicemail-to-text features that allow you to read your voicemails as text messages. The text transcriptions are generally fairly accurate and provide you with most of the information that you would have received if you listened to the voicemails.
  • Mobile App:
    You can have conversations anywhere with your mobile phone. The mobile versions of many VoIP systems allow you to make and receive calls from your mobile phone, wherever you are.
  • Online Fax:
    With VoIP, you can receive faxes online instead of receiving them as a physical piece of paper through the mail.
  • Multi-party Conferencing:
    VoIP systems include multi-party conferencing features that allow you to have conference calls with many participants.
  • Video Meeting:
    Many VoIP systems enable video calls, so you and your coworkers or customers can have face-to-face conversations.
  • Virtual Receptionist:
    VoIP systems include features that allow you to have virtual receptionists answer and route calls according to your instructions. The virtual receptionist can be programmed to answer only certain calls at certain times of the day and to direct them to specific individuals within the company based on the information they have about the caller.

Benefits of Using VoIP Phones

Several industries that previously used traditional phone systems are now switching to VoIP systems because of several benefits that they can provide. We’ll enumerate a few:

VoIP phone systems include virtual numbers, which allow companies to establish a local presence without having to pay for a physical office in a particular location. They also allow businesses to keep their costs down by eliminating long-distance and international calling fees.

VoIP phone systems make it easier for employees to communicate with one another because they don’t need to sit at a desk with a phone in order to talk to colleagues in another part of the country or the world.

VoIP phone systems allow businesses to grow their company more easily because VoIP systems don’t require expensive hardware such as computers and servers. They can be accessed from any computer or mobile device that has an internet connection.

Drawbacks of Using VoIP Phones

Although VoIP phone service is a great alternative to traditional landline phones, they also come with some drawbacks that must be considered before switching your business to a VoIP system.

One of the biggest drawbacks of using VoIP phones is that they can limit the amount of bandwidth available to your business network, which can result in slower internet speeds. Since VoIP phones also depend on a stable high-speed internet connection, which can be difficult to maintain in locations where natural disasters such as earthquakes, tornadoes, or hurricanes occur.

Selecting a VoIP Provider

There are many VoIP providers available in the business phone market. When choosing a VoIP provider, it is important to choose one that offers reliable customer service and affordable monthly rates.

We have chosen 5 of the best VoIP providers for businesses:

5 Best VoIP Providers of 2023

Ooma

Ooma is a cloud-based phone service that allows businesses to eliminate their landlines and use the internet to make and receive phone calls. It provides many features that are typically offered by traditional phone systems such as voicemail, caller ID, call forwarding, and more.

Ooma is a Business Phone System

Pricing

Ooma’s Essentials plan costs $19.95/user/month. The Pro plan is $24.95/user/month, and the Pro Plus plan costs $29.95/user/month. You can purchase pre-configured VoIP phones on their website.

RingCentral

RingCentral offers business phone (VoIP phone service) that includes unlimited calling, virtual faxing, and unlimited extensions for a flat monthly fee per user. It also has features such as conference calling, call forwarding, voicemail to email, and more.

RingCentral is a Business Phone System

Pricing

RingCentral’s Essential plan starts at $19.99 per user per month, while its Standard, Premium, and Ultimate plans start at $27.99, $34.99, and $49.99 per user per month, respectively.

Vonage

Vonage is a VoIP provider that offers a wide range of APIs to help you build customized VoIP solutions. They can integrate with numerous 3rd party systems like Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Office 365, Slack, etc.

vonage business phone systems

Pricing

Vonage’s Mobile plan starts from $14.99 per line per month. Their Premium and Advanced plans are $24.99 and $34.99/line/month, respectively. Also, their API connection comes with an additional cost.

Nextiva

Nextiva is a cloud-based phone service that provides all of the features that you need to manage your small business communications. They provide many sales tools and features for business owners.

Nextiva is a Business Phone System

Pricing

Nextiva’s Essential plan starts at $23.95 per user per month. The Professional plan starts at $27.95 per user per month, and the Enterprise plan starts at $37.95 per user per month.

Dialpad

Dialpad is a VoIP phone service provider with high-level AI capabilities. The advanced AI analytics feature help businesses generate reports right after the calls. With the AI-powered heatmap feature, users can get real-time feedback when the AI spot any speech errors.

dialpad business phone system

Pricing

Dialpad’s Standard plan starts at $15 per user per month, while the Pro plan starts at $25 per user per month. If you are interested in the Enterprise plan, you’ll need to contact the sales team to get the quote.

Considering Switching to VoIP Phone System?

Are you considering switching to VoIP phone system? Before making the switch, it’s important to understand your business needs and decide if VoIP is the right phone system for you.

What to consider when choosing the best VoIP service provider?

Here are the top tips and beginner guidelines for organizations to ensure you choose the best VoIP phone service provider for your requirements.

Understand Your Business Needs

It is important to identify the services you require from your new VoIP provider, as well as any additional business support you might need once the system is up and running.

VoIP Service Cost

When it comes to VoIP phone services, the market is packed with providers and plans. It’s important to do thorough research before choosing a plan to ensure that your needs are met at the best possible price. While some service providers may charge extra for extra features, other service providers may be cheaper overall without compromising on features or quality.

Third-Party Integration

One of the key things to consider when choosing a VoIP phone service provider is whether they integrate with third-party services such as G Suite, Dropbox, Salesforce, Slack, Zapier and more. The ability to integrate your communication systems with your other services ensures easy and effective collaboration between departments and helps to streamline business processes.

Security

Businesses should choose a VoIP phone service provider with strong security protocols to protect sensitive data and prevent unauthorized users from accessing the system.

Technical and Customer Support

Businesses should choose a VoIP service provider with strong technical support and customer service to ensure they can resolve any issues quickly and with minimal disruption to their business.

VoIP Services FAQs

What is the difference between PSTN and Voice over IP?

Voice over IP service providers use the internet to transmit voice signals instead of the Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN).

Where can we buy VoIP phones?

Businesses can find VoIP Phones (or IP Phones) from major phone manufacturers such as Avaya, Cisco, Polycom, and Yealink. VoIP phones can also be purchased from VoIP service providers such as RingCentral.

What are some examples of Voice over IP services?

VoIP services include voice calling, video conferencing, instant messaging, voicemail management, virtual phone numbers, and more.

How much is VoIP service?

The cost depends on the features of the voice over internet protocol (VoIP) service you choose and the provider you choose.

How much is a VoIP system compared to a traditional phone system?

A: Costs vary depending on the service you choose and the number of phone lines you require.